Iranian-Chilean Bahai funk from the 1970s

Standard

Dia Prometido album

From NPR:

Hava Nagila

Artist: Dia Prometido

Album: Hava Nagila

Having grown up in a household that frowned on TV (we didn’t have one until I was 13) and reveled in Kurosawa revivals at New Haven’s Crown Cinemas, I took great pleasure in Woody Allen films. I went to my uncle’s house to watch Allen’s movies on VHS tapes; I even got my parents hooked. I became a great fan of Hebrew folk fare and couldn’t pass up the opportunity to buy this funky version of “Hava Nagila” when I heard it. It was released by Spaniard nationals living in pre-revolution Tehran. The album also contains a mind-expanding version of Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Sounds of Silence” played with a tar (a type of lute) on lead.

Leave a Reply

